Skip navigation

transcend-jetflash-v35-220_big.jpg (image)
트랜센드 JF220이라는 지문인식 USB 메모리스틱을 테스트해본 결과
역시 완벽한 보안성을 가지지는 못한것으로 판단 된다.
(Cutie-Bio 처럼 어의 없는 취약점은 아니었지만…)

지문인식으로만 인식이 가능한 보안영역에 파일을 넣어둔 상태에서
분실 했다고 가정했을 경우

벤더가 제공하는 Re-Partitioning tool을 이용해서 보안영역을
비보안영역으로 다시 구성(파티셔닝)해버리면 원래 보안영역에 저장했던
데이터들이 각종 포렌식 툴에서 복구(혹은 복원)가 가능함이 발견되었다.

파일 하나하나를 벤더에서 제공하는 암호화 소프트웨어를 이용해
암호화를 시키면 (아직 까지는)복구가 불가능하기 때문에
나름대로 해결책(workaround)이라고 말할수도 있겠지만
사용자가 그만큼 불편해지는 데다가
그렇게 사용할꺼라면 굳이 지문인식 USB를 사용할 필요가 없으므로 PASS!

역시 소프트웨어를 이용해 외장 저장장치 보안을 하기란 쉽지 않은듯…

I’ve tested Transcend JF220 USB thumb-drive and found an interesting fact.
(I’m not sure weather it’s security vulnerability or not… LOL)

JF220 lets you have “secure area” which can be accessed only by a fingerprint or a password which were set in advance and “general area” which can be accessed by anyone else who “owns” this thumb drive physically.

Now, let’s say that you lost this drive with files inside the “secure area”.
You may think it wouldn’t be possible to retrieve those “important” files because they are inside the “SECURE” area.
But, unfortunately, anyone who “accidentally” owns your JF220 can restore(or recover) those files by re-partitioning the areas.
(i.e “4G-secure + 4G-general” -> “50M-secure + 7.5G-general”)

You can re-partition areas by the software in the installation CD.

[work around]
You have to encrypt file by file when you write files in “secure area”

Blogged with Flock

Tags: , , ,

5 Comments

  1. I didn’t get it. I tried to do as you wrote, but nothing unusual happened – my JF200 was reformatted and became blank. What’s wrong?

    P.S. Actually, I’ve got JF220 2GB instead of 8GB.

  2. You Have to Use Some Forensic tool to recover data from it.
    (i.e: WinHex, EnCase, FTK etc)

  3. my pendrive transcend jf-220 pendrive is not opening by fingerprint please help me if u have any clue to open it.please mail me at the given adderess.

  4. my pendrive transcend jf-220 pendrive is not opening by fingerprint please help me if u have any clue to open it.please mail me at the given address

    singh.gagandeep@rediffmail.com

  5. my wife forgot how open her transcend jf-220. now she cant use it. what can we do to use it again?


Leave a comment